Public Google+ Profiles Mandatory

Privacy advocates beware: After July 31st, Google will be terminating all private profiles on customer accounts. Now that Google has soft-launched their new social networking platform Google+, Google plans to follow up on a previous announcement to remove all private accounts.

The release of Google Buzz encountered resistance when trying to force users to public profiles, causing them to change their stance. With the release of Google+, Google has been very clear from the outset, stating months ago that all profiles on the new social networking service will be public.

This has demonstrated a much more aggressive approach by Google and clearly shows a concerted push in launching their new social platform. Google realizes that the success of Google+ relies on the inclusion of individuals and the sharing and spread of their personal information across their circles of influence to other circles. After the beta test is over for Google+ at the end of this month, you will only be able to participate in it with a public profile.

Google explains the purpose of public profiles for their new social platform as follows:

Public Profiles

The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.

Keep in mind that your full name and gender are the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share.

If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted after July 31, 2011.

As the major competitor to Google’s social networking endeavors, Facebook has also had its shares of privacy concerns. However, Facebook does allow its users to change their privacy settings so that people cannot search for you, friend request, message or you, or see any of your information.

The difference with Google+ is that while they do give you the option to uncheck the "Help others find my profile in search results" option to opt out of search results pages; each individual is still very much a public commodity.

Comments are closed.